Intro

2022 has been a year full of highs and lows. Sadly, the lows happen more often than the highs. Anyway, since I forgot my past resolutions, I won’t discuss them in this post. Instead, let me share my new year resolutions:

Resolutions

It is better to set reasonable resolutions and achieve them, rather than setting up abstract or unreasonable resolutions and failing to achieve them.

Fix my GERD

GERD For those of you who knew me, you probably know that I have acid reflux, and it is still not cured since 2018. An endoscopy on 2022 only revealed a polyp on my esophagus, and esophagitis due to me regurgitating food that I ate. The doctors advised me to avoid trigger foods and eat less portions more often.

I tried to be strict about it, but sometimes I just can’t help it when I have a massive craving, or when my parents leave their portion for me to eat. Also, some trigger foods and drinks are kind of hard for me to avoid since I really like them (onions, leek, chocolate, tea).

Which is why, in this year I want to be strict on my own diet. Small portions, avoid trigger foods.

Set up an exercise routine

exercise I used to have an exercise routine, but my mom kept pestering me about how I lost a lot of weight (from 65kg to 58-59kg now). I stopped exercising in order to gain weight, but it kinda backfired (I still haven’t gained weight AND I’m not fit).

Which is why, might as well do routine exercise again regardless of weight loss. I will also try to snack a lot more, so that my calorie intake goes up.

Finish Tae Kim’s complete guide to Japanese

JP I have been learning Japanese during 2022, even establishing a routine, and setting up an automatic flashcard generator using Google App Script + Google Sheets. But I think my way of learning is kind of ineffective, because I’ve been learning for a whole year and yet I probably can’t pass N5. My learning structure is kinda wack.

Which is why I want to at least finish Tae Kim’s guide. According to some articles I’ve read online, Tae Kim’s guide is good and should cover grammar points up to N4.

PIU: Clear 50 S17 A rank with break on

PIU The title of this resolution may seem confusing, so let me explain bit by bit. PIU is an acronym for Pump It Up, a 5 panel vertical scrolling rhythm game made by Andamiro. Think of it as “DDR but with 5 arrows instead of 4, and full of K-POP songs”. You might have seen machines like the picture above if you have ever explored an arcade.

S17 stands for single 17. Pump It Up’s level system is a number that starts from 1 and ends on 28 (highest so far). The difficulty level is not linear, and most people would encounter a problem going from 7 to 8 (where they will need to learn how to twist their hips), then 14 (stamina issue), then 16-17 (HUGE stamina issue, or need to move less in order to conserve stamina).

I’m currently on the 16-17 skill check, and I don’t want to be too optimistic about my progress, which is why 50 S17 songs seem reasonble for this year (there are more than 150 S17 songs). Currently I have 11 clears, and you can track my progress on my instagram story highlights.

Closing statement

I would like to thank everyone who had been a part of my life throughout 2022, and I hope that I was a positive influence on your lives as well. Please take care of me this year as well.