Third website?

Yes, this is my third time making a personal website. The first time was using plain HTML, Bootstrap, and Javascript, then publishing it to Github pages. The second time was using React.js with Material-UI, which can be seen here. It used netlify to host static pages, and it worked pretty well until I decided to take down the website for several reasons:

  • I got a job as a software engineer, so I felt that I didn’t need to advertise myself that much.
  • I wanted to make a blog, but at the time I didn’t know how because I wanted to keep a folder full of markdown files that serve as blog content, but I can’t get it to work without a backend iterating through the folder containing multiple markdown files.

After a coworker decided to leave their current job, I decided that I wanted to start exploring my options. The solution I decided to use was to use hugo to create static HTML files from markdown files. I used hugo because hugo used Go, which was already installed on my laptop (compared to using jekyll needing Ruby installed, but in retrospect this might have been way easier because Github pages endorsed it).

Hugo did not want to play nice with Github pages at all. I tried to use the github-actions method (building static files on a separate branch and have Github pages show that), but every post returns a 404 not found (from Github pages, not from hugo itself). On the other hand, netlify pretty much ran well without many problems, which is why I went with it.

Who am I?

I’m a Software Engineer (Backend) that graduated from Pelita Harapan University at the year 2021, and currently working for Tokopedia. Some of my hobbies are:

  • Rhythm gaming (arcade and non arcade, for example maimai, sound voltex, osu!)
  • Mechanical keyboards
  • Audio gear

Current situation

At this time of writing, I just finished getting an endoscopy because I tend to vomit after eating or drinking anything. My digestive problem began at 2018, when I kept missing my dinner because of being a university student, private tutor, and event comitee at the same time. The doctor diagnosed me with esophagitis, and there is a polyp on my esophagus which the doctor refused to remove because of said esophagitis. Health is expensive, so having a lot of money would make me more peaceful inside. Money can’t buy you happiness, but it sure can relieve some adult issues.

Going forward

I need to focus on recovering first, so that I can move on with my life. Once that is done, I would probably pursue content creation as a hobby while keeping my day job as a software engineer. For this website, I would probably have separate tags for the posts I make here, such as life updates, audio/keyboard review, etc. Maybe one day I might pursue game development for passive income (it was also my passion) and end up creating an itch.io account and a youtube channel. If it does end up that way, I will update my links in this website. My long term goals are probably these:

  • Pursue a masters degree, so that I can be a lecturer when I retire from being a software engineer.
  • Pursue game development, 2D/3D design, music and content creation
  • Learn Japanese

I think that is all. I hope this is the final “personal website” that I make, but no promises~