Congratulations! You’ve survived another week at work or school/university, hooray! What do you want to do on the weekend? Here are some common answers that I could think of:

  • I want to sleep, so that I can be at full energy by Monday.
  • I want to hang out with my school/university/work friends, go to somewhere we can chat, have fun, etc.
  • I want to play games, either alone or with friends.

All of these can be justified because you are trying to do the things you can’t do on weekdays. And that is fine.

But what if they are not fine? What if you could have used that time to, I don’t know,

  • Study a new language? (can be programming, can be actual human language)
  • Do a project that makes your portfolio looks amazing?
  • Create content to improve your personal brand?
  • Attend “events” (can be online or offline) to improve your connections?
  • Exercise hard to stay healthy or get stronger?

You are wasting your time just trying to have fun! You are wasting your time by resting, even though you sleep at night anyway! Push your body to your limit!

That is what I would have said if I am a motivational speaker. Which I am not.

that sucks man

The simple truth that you need money for most (not all, but most) things in life. Food? Money. Clothes? Money. Transportation? Money. Most people are inclined to seek more money, either by changing jobs, getting a second job, doing freelance work, be a content creator, start a side business, get into investing or trading, etc. What I hate are “motivational” posts on instagram that I see at the explore section. Here is one such post. I keep pressing the “not interested” button, but they just won’t go away. “Wake up at 5 AM to exercise before work”, so that I can be lethargic at work?

These are a list of things that you are expected to do in order to become exemplary:

  • Exercise everyday to avoid being sick
  • Keep honing your skills/increasing your knowledge to be/stay at the top of the industry
  • Have many connections with people, and leverage them when needed
  • Have side hustles to generate additional income on top of your job
  • Invest your money wisely, do research on the market, keep up with the latest news

There is no room for entertainment, unless the things you do to entertain yourself can be another source of income (maybe you can stream your gameplay and hope people would watch you, or maybe you are one of the lucky people who enjoy their job). I strive to learn new skills, but then I would sacrifice the time I spend with my friends in order to pursue the skills I wanted to learn, jeopardizing my existing connections. Even when I am pursuing a skill that I wanted, I would still be jaded if I kept learning nonstop. Learning a skill is good for you, but if you don’t enjoy the learning process and instead get more stress, is it worth it?

Normal distribution I don’t understand the hatred to average people. Normal distribution dictates that there will be a small percentage of amazing people, a small percentage of below average people, and a huge percentage of average people. If everyone wants to be above average, then everyone becomes average. Without average people, the elites cannot know that they are part of the small percentage. If everyone wanted to be a business owner, then there will be no workers at all.

TLDR

It’s okay to be average. Life sucks, so just make do with what we can, take care of our mental health, and do not fall for get-rich-quickly scams. See you on top. Sunset wojak